Casual vacancies in the sixth Legislative Assembly (2004-2008)

Updated 29 Nov 2017

There was one casual vacancy during the sixth Legislative Assembly .

Mr Ted Quinlan

Mr Ted Quinlan resigned from the Legislative Assembly on 21 March 2006. A notice was published in the Canberra Times on 24 March 2006 calling for nominations from eligible candidates. At the close of applications on 3 April 2006, a total of 11 nominations had been received. In a recount of ballot papers received by Mr Quinlan at the 2004 election, Mr Andrew Barr, Australian Labor Party, received a majority of preferences. Mr Barr was officially declared elected to fill the casual vacancy on 5 April 2006.

Mr Ted Quinlan casual vacancy candidate results (pdf 289 kb)