List of elected candidates - 1998 Election

Updated 6 Jan 2015

The following candidates were elected to the ACT Legislative Assembly as a result of the poll held on Saturday, 21 February 1998.

Electorate Name and party
Brindabella Mr Brendan Smyth - Liberal Party
Mr Paul Osborne - Osborne Independent Group (2)
Mr Bill Wood - Australian Labor Party
Mr Trevor Kaine - Liberal Party (1)
Mr John Hargreaves - Australian Labor Party
Ginninderra Mr Bill Stefaniak - Liberal Party
Mr Wayne Berry - Australian Labor Party
Mr Harold Hird - Liberal Party
Mr Jon Stanhope - Australian Labor Party
Mr Dave Rugendyke - Osborne Independent Group (2)
Molonglo Mrs Kate Carnell - Liberal Party (3)
Mr Gary Humphries - Liberal Party
Ms Kerrie Tucker - The ACT Greens
Mr Greg Cornwell - Liberal Party
Mr Simon Corbell - Australian Labor Party
Mr Ted Quinlan - Australian Labor Party
Mr Michael Moore - Moore Independents

Notes: 1. After the election, Mr Trevor Kaine resigned from the Liberal Party and formed the United Canberra Party. This party was registered on 30 July 1998 and was deregistered, at the request of the party, on 30 June 2001. Mr Kaine sat in the Assembly as an independent from that date. 2. The Osborne Independent Group was deregistered, at the request of the party, on 15 February 1999. Mr Paul Osborne and Mr Dave Rugendyke sat in the Assembly as independents from that date. 3. Mrs Kate Carnell resigned from the Legislative Assembly on 13 December 2000. Ms Jacqui Burke, Liberal Party, was declared elected to fill the casual vacancy on 18 January 2001.