2017 ATSIEB election - nominations

Updated 30 May 2017

List of candidates

Nominations closed on 29 May 2017 and a random draw for positions on the ballot paper was conducted on 30 May 2017 . Following is the full list of candidates, in the order they will appear on the ballot paper.

  • Clayton SIMPSON
  • Caroline HUGHES
  • Greg NARRIER
  • Margaret BLACKMAN
  • Tony McCULLOCH
  • Ross FOWLER
  • Jessa ROGERS
  • Paula McGRADY
  • Warren DALEY
  • Jacob KEED
  • Maurice WALKER
  • Selina WALKER
  • Lynnice Letty CHURCH
  • Katrina FANNING
  • Darren WILLIAMS
  • Dion DEVOW
  • Andrew J WOOLGAR
  • Jonathan CORNFORTH
  • Tracey Lea HARRIS
  • Stacey ANDERSON
  • Violet SHERIDAN
  • Diane COLLINS

Nomination process

Nominations for this election closed at 12 noon on Monday 29 May 2017.

Completed nomination forms must be provided to the Electoral Commissioner by 12 noon on Monday 29 May 2017.  Candidates are advised to submit their nomination forms well before the close of nominations to allow time for any errors to be corrected before nominations are closed.

To be eligible to vote, or to be nominated as a candidate for the election you must be an Aboriginal person or Torres Strait Islander, at least 18 years old, and on, or entitled to be on, the ACT electoral roll.  However, candidates cannot be under sentence of imprisonment for 1 year or longer for an indictable offence.

The candidate must be nominated by four people who declare that:

  • they are an Aboriginal person or Torres Strait Islander; and
  • are at least 18 years old; and
  • are enrolled, or entitled to be enrolled, on the ACT electoral roll; and
  • are not under sentence of imprisonment for 1 year or longer for a conviction for an indictable offence.

To be entitled to be on the ACT electoral roll, a person must have a current place of living in the ACT and have lived at that place for at least the preceding month. 

A person is not entitled to be on the ACT electoral roll if:

  • because of unsound mind, he or she is incapable of understanding the nature and significance of enrolment and voting;
  • he or she has been convicted of treason and has not been pardoned; or
  • under the Migration Act 1958, he or she is the holder of a temporary visa or is an unlawful non-citizen.

The declaration of nominations and draw for position on the ballot paper is a public event where all candidates and community members are invited to attend.  For further information about the declaration of nomination, refer to Public Events.

Under the legislation, late nominations cannot be accepted under any circumstance.

For further information