2019 Redistribution

Updated 22 Mar 2019

In preparation for the 17 October 2020 ACT Legislative Assembly election, the Electoral Act 1992 provides that a redistribution of ACT Legislative Assembly electorates must begin as soon as practicable 2 years before the date of an ACT election.

The redistribution will determined the boundaries and names for 5 electorates each with 5 members for the 2020 ACT Legislative Assembly election.

Public suggestions on ACT electorate boundaries can be made through the online redistribution mapping tool.

More information about the redistribution process is on the Redistribution fact sheet.

Further information and details will be provided on this web page as the redistribution process progresses.

The first step in the redistribution process is the appointment, by the ACT Electoral Commission, of a Redistribution Committee. The Redistribution Committee was appointed by the Commission on 26 October 2018.

The Redistribution Committee consists of the Electoral Commissioner, Damian Cantwell AM; the ACT Planning and Land Authority, Ben Ponton; the ACT Surveyor-General, Jeffrey Brown; and the Director of Demography, Australian Bureau of Statistics, Beidar Cho.

Before the Redistribution Committee can make a proposal for new electoral boundaries, any interested persons or organisations who wish to make suggestions regarding the redistribution are given 28 days to forward suggestions to the Redistribution Committee.

The public suggestion phase of this redistribution process commenced on Tuesday, 5 February 2019 and will close on Monday, 4 March 2019.

Suggestions can be lodged through the Online redistribution mapping tool.

Alternatively, if you do not wish to use the online mapping tool - an excel spreadsheet is also made available to allow localities to be distributed into electorates.

Following the completion of the public suggestion period, all submitted responses will be made available for viewing on this webpage and at the office of the ACT Electoral Commission.

A 14 day period (5 March - 18 March) in which comments on the suggestions can be lodged will then automatically commence.

The 28 day public suggestion period closed on 4 March 2019.

15 suggestions were received:


Name Pdf version Explanatory document
Alex Adkins pdf version 
Anne-Maree Nelmes pdf version 
Barry Coyles 1 pdf version 
Barry Coyles 2 pdf version 
Ben Chesler pdf version 
Chef Giovannus pdf version 
Chris Erett pdf version 
Martin Gordon pdf versionExplanation document
Michael Adams pdf version 
Peter Sutherland pdf version 


Name Pdf version Explanatory document
ACT Labor pdf versionExplanation document
Canberra Liberals pdf versionExplanation document
Proportional Representation Society of Australia - ACT Branch pdf versionExplanation document
Weston Creek Community Council pdf version Explanation document
Woden Valley Community Council  Explanation document

Copies of all suggestions received by the Committee were made available for public inspection on the ACT Electoral Commission's website and at the Electoral Commissioner’s office from 5 March 2019.

Written comments relating to those suggestions were due to be lodged with the Redistribution Committee by 18 March 2019. Seven comments were received:


Name Pdf version Explanatory document
Barry Coyles  Comment document
Edward Seychelles 1 pdf version 
Edward Seychelles 2 pdf version 


Name Explanatory document
Deakin Residents Association Comment document
Inner South Canberra Community Council Comment document
Proportional Representation Society of Australia - ACT Branch Comment document
Weston Creek Community Council Comment document

Following consideration of the submissions, the Redistribution Committee will publish its proposed redistribution, setting out the proposed boundaries and names of the 5 ACT Legislative Assembly electorates.