Seven objections to the ACT Redistribution Committee’s proposal now available

Published 4 Jun 2019

Objections to the ACT Redistribution Committee’s proposed redistribution of the ACT Legislative Assembly’s electoral boundaries are now available for public viewing, the ACT Electoral Commissioner Mr Damian Cantwell said today.

The ACT Legislative Assembly’s electoral boundaries are being redrawn in preparation for the 17 October 2020 election.

The Redistribution Committee published a proposed redistribution of the ACT into five electorates on 7 May 2019 and invited objections to the proposal by 3 June 2019.

Seven objections to the proposal are available for public inspection at the ACT Electoral Commission website and at the office of the Commission.

“The objections will now be considered by the Augmented Electoral Commission at a meeting to be held on 6 June 2019,” Mr Cantwell said.

“The Augmented Electoral Commission has the power to either propose a new set of electorate boundaries and/or names, or to uphold the boundaries and electorate names proposed by the Redistribution Committee.  Before it makes a decision, the Augmented Electoral Commission may also decide to hold a public hearing into the objections,” Mr Cantwell said.

The Redistribution Committee consisted of the Electoral Commissioner, Mr Damian Cantwell; the ACT Planning and Land Authority, Mr Ben Ponton; the ACT Surveyor-General, Mr Jeffrey Brown; and the Director, Demography, Australian Bureau of Statistics, Ms Beidar Cho.

These committee members will now be joined by the Chairperson of the ACT Electoral Commission, Ms Dawn Casey, and the other member of the Commission, Mr Philip Moss, to form the Augmented ACT Electoral Commission.