Public comments on suggestions for redistribution of ACT electoral boundaries close today, Monday 18 March

Published 18 Mar 2019

“Members of the public have until midnight tonight, Monday 18 March to make comments on the public suggestions lodged for changes to the ACT Legislative Assembly’s electoral boundaries”, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Mr Damian Cantwell AM, said today.

A total of 15 suggestions were received by the Redistribution Committee as part of the public suggestion phase of the Redistribution process.  These suggestions are now available for public inspection on the ACT Electoral Commission website at and at its office at Ground Floor, North Building, London Circuit, Civic Square, ACT.

Members of the public are invited to make written comments on suggestions to the Redistribution Committee.  Comments should be lodged with the Electoral Commission via the Elections ACT website or by email to by midnight 18 March 2019.

After the close of the comments period, the Redistribution Committee will consider the public suggestions and comments before publishing a proposed redistribution of the ACT's electoral boundaries in mid 2019. The public will then have 28 days in which to object to the proposed boundaries.

The ACT Legislative Assembly’s electoral boundaries are being redrawn in preparation for the 17 October 2020 election.

The Redistribution Committee consists of the Electoral Commissioner, Damian Cantwell; the ACT Planning and Land Authority, Ben Ponton; the ACT Surveyor-General, Jeff Brown; and the Director of Demography, Australian Bureau of Statistics, Beidar Cho.