Proposed redistribution of ACT electoral boundaries to be published tomorrow, 7 May 2019

Published 6 May 2019

The proposed redistribution of the ACT into five electorates will be published tomorrow, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Damian Cantwell, said today.

A map of the proposed boundaries will be published by the ACT Redistribution Committee in the Canberra Times on Tuesday, 7 May 2015.  A detailed report on the proposal will be available on the Elections ACT website.

“The report of the Redistribution Committee will include a map of the proposed boundaries, a statement of reasons for the proposed names and boundaries of the five electorates, and detailed statistics,” Mr Cantwell said.

The ACT Legislative Assembly’s electoral boundaries are being redrawn in preparation for the 17 October 2020 election.

Members of the public will be invited to make written objections to the proposal to the Augmented ACT Electoral Commission.  Objections should be lodged with the Augmented Electoral Commission by Monday, 3 June 2019.

The Redistribution Committee consists of the Electoral Commissioner, Damian Cantwell; the ACT Planning and Land Authority, Ben Ponton; the ACT Surveyor-General, Jeff Brown; and the Director of Demography, Australian Bureau of Statistics, Beidar Cho.

The Augmented Electoral Commission consists of the four members of the Redistribution Committee and the other two members of the ACT Electoral Commission, the Chairperson, Ms Dawn Casey, and the other member, Mr Philip Moss.

A media release will be issued tomorrow giving details of the proposed electorates.