25 candidates standing for the 2017 ACT Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elected Body election

Published 1 Jun 2017

“A record 25 candidates will contest the 2017 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elected Body election,” Mr Ro Spence, acting ACT Electoral Commissioner said today.

“The nomination period closed at 12 noon on Monday, 29 May 2017 and the names of the candidates contesting the election were declared at an official event on Tuesday, 30 May 2017”, Mr Spence continued.

The names of the 25 candidates contesting the election, listed in ballot paper order, are:

  • Clayton SIMPSON
  • Caroline HUGHES
  • Greg NARRIER
  • Margaret BLACKMAN
  • Tony McCULLOCH
  • Ross FOWLER
  • Jessa ROGERS
  • Paula McGRADY
  • Warren DALEY
  • Jacob KEED
  • Maurice WALKER
  • Selina WALKER
  • Lynnice Letty CHURCH
  • Katrina FANNING
  • Darren WILLIAMS
  • Dion DEVOW
  • Andrew J WOOLGAR
  • Jonathan CORNFORTH
  • Tracey Lea HARRIS
  • Stacey ANDERSON
  • Violet SHERIDAN
  • Diane COLLINS

“The candidates will be vying for 7 positions on the Elected Body to represent the interests and aspirations of the local Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community,” Mr Spence said.

Polling for the election will take place during NAIDOC week from 1 July to 8 July 2017.

“A ‘meet the candidates’ evening is being held for members of the community, where each candidate will be given the opportunity to speak,” the Director of the ACT Office of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander affairs, Ms Robyn Forester said.

Media representatives and members of the public are invited to the ‘meet the candidates’ evening, to be held on Wednesday 28 June 2017, from 5pm to 8.30pm at 50MC Theatre, 50 Marcus Clarke Street, Canberra City.

For further information about the election of members to the Elected Body visit the Elections ACT website at www.elections.act.gov.au or call 62050033.

For further information on the Elected Body call 6205 2551, visit atsieb.com.au or email atsieb@act.gov.au.