ACT Legislative Assembly electoral boundaries redistribution public consultation commences tomorrow

Published 5 Nov 2014

The public consultation process for the redistribution of the ACT Legislative Assembly’s electoral boundaries will officially commence tomorrow with a call for public submissions, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Phillip Green said today.

The ACT Legislative Assembly’s electoral boundaries are to be redrawn in preparation for the 15 October 2016 election.

“For the first time, the ACT will be divided into 5 electorates each returning 5 Members to the Legislative Assembly. This follows legislation enacted by the Assembly in August 2014 to increase the size of the Assembly to 25 Members,” Mr Green said

The ACT Legislative Assembly currently consists of 17 Members elected in 3 electorates, with 7 Members representing the electorate of Molonglo and 5 Members representing each of the electorates of Brindabella and Ginninderra.

“The ACT Redistribution Committee is publishing an official notice tomorrow inviting suggestions for boundaries and names for the ACT’s electorates. A copy of the notice will appear in the Canberra Times”, Mr Green said.

“As the number of electorates is to be increased, the Redistribution Committee is particularly interested in receiving suggestions for names for the electorates,” Mr Green said. “While the existing 3 electorate names may be retained, the Redistribution Committee is able to consider suggestions for new names for some or all of the existing electorates, as well as names for the additional two electorates.”

Any interested persons or organisations have until 4 December 2014 to make suggestions to the Redistribution Committee. Those suggestions will then be made available for public comment from 5 December 2014 until 18 December 2014.

After considering the public submissions, the Redistribution Committee will publish a proposed redistribution of the ACT into five electorates in early 2015. People will then have 28 days in which to object to the proposed boundaries.

The Redistribution Committee consists of the Electoral Commissioner, Phillip Green; the ACT Planning and Land Authority, Dorte Ekelund; the ACT Surveyor-General, Bill Hirst; and the ACT Regional Director, ACT Regional Office, Australian Bureau of Statistics, Cassandra Gligora.

One key requirement for the redistribution will be ensuring that electoral enrolments in each electorate will be within +/- 5% of the quota at the time of the next election. The quota for each electorate is 1/5 of the ACT total enrolment.

When redrawing the electoral boundaries, the Redistribution Committee is also required to take account of the community of interests, including economic, social and regional interests; means of communication and travel; the physical features and area of each proposed electorate; the boundaries of existing electorates; and the boundaries of suburban divisions and sections.

The ACT Electoral Commission is making available a graphical boundary mapping tool to allow users to define and submit their electorate boundaries and name suggestions online.

Complete electoral enrolment statistics and further detailed information is available from this site and from the ACT Electoral Commission’s office at Ground floor, North Building, Civic Square, 180 London Circuit, Canberra City.