Sixteen political parties registered for the 2020 ACT Legislative Assembly election

Published 28 Jul 2020

“Sixteen political parties are registered to field candidates at the 2020 ACT Legislative Assembly election”, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Damian Cantwell AM, said today.

“The register of political parties in the ACT has been amended to include five more political parties with effect from today, 28 July 2020, taking the total number of registered political parties to sixteen”, Mr Cantwell said. “The Australian Climate Change Justice Party, the Australian Federation Party Australian Capital Territory, David Pollard Independent, the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) and The Canberra Party all are now newly eligible to nominate candidates for the 2020 ACT Legislative Assembly election,” the Commissioner stated.

“Parties wishing to register for ACT elections must submit a list of at least 100 members and a copy of the party’s constitution to the Electoral Commissioner. Registered political parties are able to list their party name or their abbreviated name on ballot papers and receive public funding of election expenses.”

It is now too late for any political parties not yet registered for the 2020 ACT election to apply. The deadline to lodge an application for official registration in time to run candidates at the 2020 ACT election was 30 June 2020.

The sixteen political parties registered to contest the October 2020 election are:

  • Animal Justice Party
  • Australian Climate Change Justice Party
  • Australian Federation Party Australian Capital Territory
  • Australian Labor Party (ACT Branch)
  • Belco Party (ACT)
  • Canberra Progressives
  • David Pollard Independent
  • Democratic Labour Party (DLP)
  • Liberal Democratic Party
  • Liberal Party of Australia (A. C. T. Division)
  • Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party (ACT)
  • Sustainable Australia (ACT)
  • The ACT Greens
  • The Canberra Party
  • The Community Action Party (ACT)
  • The Flux Party – ACT

Further information on party registration can be viewed on the Commission’s website at