Five further parties apply to register as political parties for 2020 ACT Legislative Assembly election

Published 1 Jul 2020

“Five further applications to register as a political party have been submitted to the ACT Electoral Commission just prior to the deadline for new party applications,” the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Mr Damian Cantwell AM, said today.

“The deadline for applying for registration passed at midnight 30 June 2020.” Mr Cantwell said, “The Australian Climate Change Justice Party, the Australian Federation Party Australian Capital Territory, David Pollard Independent, The Canberra Party and the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) all lodged applications before the deadline”.

“Parties wishing to register for ACT elections must submit a list of at least 100 members who are ACT electors and a copy of the party’s constitution to the Electoral Commissioner. Members of the public are entitled to object to an application for party registration if they consider that the party is not eligible to be registered,” Mr Cantwell said.

The objection period will commence early next week and will close after 14 days after the published notice.

“This takes the number of new parties applying to register for the 2020 election to eight”, Mr Cantwell stated. “The Canberra Progressives and the Belco Party (ACT) have already completed the registration process and can now contest the election, while the Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party (ACT) are currently within the 14 day objection period.”

A copy of the applications and the constitutions of each party are available for public inspection at the office of the Commissioner between 9.00am and 5.00pm on business days by appointment.

There are currently ten political parties registered to contest the 2020 ACT election:

  • Animal Justice Party
  • Australian Labor Party (ACT Branch)
  • Belco Party (ACT)
  • Canberra Progressives
  • Liberal Democratic Party
  • Liberal Party of Australia (A.C.T. Division)
  • Sustainable Australia (ACT)
  • The ACT Greens
  • The Community Action Party (ACT)
  • The Flux Party ACT

Further information on party registration can be viewed on the Commission’s website