Belco Party (ACT) officially registered for the 2020 ACT Legislative Assembly election

Published 16 Jun 2020

The Belco Party (ACT) have officially been entered on the register of political parties in the ACT and is now eligible to nominate candidates for the 2020 ACT Legislative Assembly election, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Damian Cantwell AM, said today.

The registration took effect from Tuesday, 16 June 2020.

“Parties wishing to register for ACT elections must submit a list of at least 100 members and a copy of the party’s constitution to the Electoral Commissioner. Registered political parties are able to list their party name or their abbreviated name on ballot papers and receive public funding of election expenses.”

Any political parties not yet registered for the October 2020 ACT election have until 30 June 2020 to submit an application for official registration to the ACT Electoral Commissioner.

There are currently ten political parties registered to contest the October 2020 election:

  • Animal Justice Party
  • Australian Labor Party (ACT Branch)
  • Belco Party (ACT)
  • Canberra Progressives
  • Liberal Democratic Party
  • Liberal Party of Australia (A. C. T. Division)
  • Sustainable Australia (ACT)
  • The ACT Greens
  • The Community Action Party (ACT)
  • The Flux Party – ACT

Further information on party registration can be viewed on the Commission’s website at