Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party (ACT) officially registered for the 2020 ACT Legislative Assembly election

Published 10 Jul 2020

The Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party (ACT) has officially been entered on the register of political parties in the ACT and is now eligible to nominate candidates for the 2020 ACT Legislative Assembly election,” the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Damian Cantwell AM, said today.

The registration took effect from Friday, 10 July 2020.

There are currently eleven political parties registered to contest the October 2020 election:

  • Animal Justice Party
  • Australian Labor Party (ACT Branch)
  • Belco Party (ACT)
  • Canberra Progressives
  • Liberal Democratic Party
  • Liberal Party of Australia (A. C. T. Division)
  • Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party (ACT)
  • Sustainable Australia (ACT)
  • The ACT Greens
  • The Community Action Party (ACT)
  • The Flux Party – ACT

“Five further applications to register as a political party were submitted to the ACT Electoral Commission just prior to the deadline for new party applications at midnight 30 June 2020”, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Mr Damian Cantwell AM said today.

Those parties were:

  • Australian Climate Change Justice Party
  • Australian Federation Party Australian Capital Territory
  • David Pollard Independent
  • Democratic Labour Party (DLP)
  • The Canberra Party

“Parties wishing to register for ACT elections must submit a list of at least 100 members who are ACT electors and a copy of the party’s constitution to the Electoral Commissioner. Members of the public are entitled to object to an application for party registration if they consider that the party is not eligible to be registered,” Mr Cantwell said.

Anyone wishing to object to the registration of any of these five parties may lodge a written objection with the Electoral Commissioner by 23 July 2020. The objection must be in writing, set out the grounds of the objection, state the objector’s name and address and be signed by the objector.

A copy of the applications and the constitutions of these parties are available for public inspection at the office of the Commissioner between 9.00am and 5.00pm on business days.

Further information on party registration can be viewed on the Commission’s website at