Result of Ms Fitzharris casual vacancy in the ACT Legislative Assembly to be known today

Published 22 Jul 2019

The names of the applicants who wish to contest the casual vacancy in the electorate of Yerrabi following the resignation of Ms Meegan Fitzharris will be announced today at 12:30 pm by the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Mr Damian Cantwell AM.

The computerised count to determine the successful candidate will be conducted immediately thereafter.

The names of the candidates contesting the vacancy and the results of the count will be emailed to media outlets after the conclusion of the declaration and the count at around 1:30 pm.  The names of the candidates and the result of the count will also be posted on the Elections ACT website at

ACT Legislative Assembly vacancies are filled by conducting a “countback” of those ballot papers that elected the vacating member. In effect, those electors who voted for Ms Meegan Fitzharris determine her replacement.

An advertisement was published on Friday 12 July 2019 in the Canberra Times and on the Elections ACT website inviting candidates who unsuccessfully stood in the electorate of Yerrabi at the 2016 election to contest the vacancy.  Candidates are able to put their names forward up to 12 noon today.

Media representatives and members of the public are welcome at the declaration of the names of the candidates contesting the vacancy and at the computerised count.  The declaration and the count are to be held at the ACT Legislative Assembly, Civic Square, 196 London Circuit, Canberra City.