Damian Cantwell to be new ACT Electoral Commissioner

Published 3 Oct 2017

The Chair of the ACT Electoral Commission, Ms Dawn Casey, advised today that Brigadier (Retired) Damian Cantwell AM will be appointed by the Speaker of the ACT Legislative Assembly for a 5-year term as the new ACT Electoral Commissioner.

Ms Casey stated that Brigadier Cantwell has served as a commissioned officer in the Australian Defence Force for 37 years, demonstrating strong leadership abilities and achievements that include high level Defence Force liaison roles in the United States and senior roles assisting the Government of Afghanistan in the conduct of the 2009 Afghanistan Election.

“Brigadier Cantwell brings a wealth of senior executive strategic leadership and change management experience.  He has a track record of delivering quality outcomes in often challenging and complex environments.  He approaches this role with the high level of personal energy, commitment, integrity and strong ethics needed of an ACT Electoral Commissioner and he is excited by the challenges ahead in leading the Commission.” Ms Casey said.

“I look forward to working with Brigadier Cantwell to continue the important work of Elections ACT.”

Brigadier Cantwell will succeed long-time ACT Electoral Commissioner Phillip Green.  The appointment will commence on 1 November 2017 following Brigadier Cantwell’s retirement from full time Army service in October.  Ms Casey acknowledged and thanked Mr Rohan Spence for his dedication, hard work and commitment in undertaking the role of a/g Commissioner over the past 8 months.

“I look forward to leading the dedicated and experienced Elections ACT team, and building on their highly valued skills to serve the Legislative Assembly and people of the ACT in the future.  I’m excited about the challenges ahead,” Brigadier Cantwell said.