ACT Legislative Assembly Casual Vacancy Announced following the passing of Steve Doszpot

Published 28 Nov 2017

The name of the candidate elected to replace Mr Steve Doszpot MLA in the ACT Legislative Assembly should be known by Monday 11 December 2017, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Mr Damian Cantwell AM, announced today.

The Electoral Commissioner has received official notification of the casual vacancy from the Speaker of the Assembly, Ms Joy Burch MLA. Mr Doszpot sadly passed away on Saturday, 25 November 2017.

“On behalf of the ACT Electoral Commission I would like to express my condolences to Mr Doszpot’s family and friends for their loss,” Mr Cantwell said. “I also wish to outline the official timetable for filling the Legislative Assembly vacancy created by his passing.”

Legislative Assembly vacancies are filled by conducting a ‘countback’ of those ballot papers that elected the vacating member.  In effect, those electors who voted for Mr Doszpot determine his replacement.

“To begin the countback process, an advertisement will appear on Friday 1 December 2017 in the Canberra Times, inviting candidates who unsuccessfully stood in the Kurrajong electorate at the 2016 election to contest the vacancy.  Where practicable the Commission will also notify all those unsuccessful candidates directly,” Mr Cantwell said.

Those candidates then have ten days to indicate if they wish to contest the vacancy. Applications from candidates must be received by 12:00 noon on Monday 11 December 2017.

“At 12:30 pm on 11 December 2017, the names of the candidates contesting the vacancy will be officially declared.  A computer counting program will then be used to determine which candidate will be elected to the Assembly to replace Mr Doszpot,” Mr Cantwell said.

It is expected that the official declaration of the result will take place the following Wednesday, 13 December 2017, at 3:00 pm.

Members of the media are invited to attend these two events. They will take place at the ACT Legislative Assembly, 196 London Circuit, Civic Square, Canberra City.