2017 ACT Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elected Body election results announced

Published 19 Jul 2017

The names of the seven members to be declared elected to the ACT’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elected Body were announced today, Wednesday 19 July 2017, by the Acting ACT Electoral Commissioner, Mr Ro Spence.

“Counting for the ACT Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elected Body election took place today, using the Hare-Clark proportional representation system.  A record total of 435 votes were admitted to the count,” Mr Spence said.

Twenty five candidates contested the election.  Voting for the election took place during the week starting Saturday 1 July and concluded on Saturday 8 July 2017.  Any Aboriginal person or Torres Strait Islander aged 18 or over, living in the ACT, was eligible to vote in the election.

The successful candidates in the order in which they were elected are:

  1. Caroline HUGHES
  2. Katrina FANNING
  4. Ross FOWLER
  5. Maurice WALKER
  6. Fred MONAGHAN
  7. Jacob KEED

The official declaration of the poll will take place at midday, Thursday 20 July 2017, at  the Canberra Museum and Gallery Theatrette, Ground Floor, North Building, 180 London Circuit, Civic Square, Canberra City. The declaration event will be open to candidates, the media and the general public.

For further information on the Elected Body call 6205 2551, visit atsieb.com.au or email atsieb@act.gov.au.