Mr Brendan Smyth MLA resigns - ACT Legislative Assembly casual vacancy announced

Published 15 Jul 2016

The name of the candidate elected to replace Mr Brendan Smyth MLA in the ACT Legislative Assembly should be known by 28 July 2016, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Mr Phillip Green, announced today.

The Electoral Commissioner has received official notification of the casual vacancy from the acting Speaker of the Assembly, Ms Nicole Lawder MLA.  Mr Smyth formally resigned from the Assembly today, Friday 15 July 2016.

“I am now able to outline the official timetable for filling the vacancy,” Mr Green said.

Legislative Assembly vacancies are filled by conducting a ‘count-back’ of those ballot papers that elected the vacating member.  In effect, those electors who voted for Mr Smyth determine his replacement.

“To begin the count-back process, an advertisement will appear on Monday 18 July 2016 in the Canberra Times and on the Elections ACT website, inviting candidates who unsuccessfully stood in the Brindabella electorate at the 2012 election to contest the vacancy.  Where practicable the Commission will also notify all those unsuccessful candidates directly,” Mr Green said.

Those candidates then have ten days to indicate if they wish to contest the vacancy.  Applications from candidates must be received by 12.00 noon on Thursday 28 July 2016.

“At 12.30 pm on Thursday 28 July 2016, the names of the candidates contesting the vacancy will be officially declared.  A computer counting program will then be used to determine which candidate will be elected to the Assembly to replace Mr Smyth,” Mr Green said.

It is expected that the official declaration of the result will take place on Friday 29 July 2016, at 3.00 pm.

Members of the media are invited to attend these two events. The count back will take place at the ACT Legislative Assembly, Civic Square, London Circuit, Canberra City.