Canberra goes to the polls tomorrow

Published 14 Oct 2016

ACT electors will go to the polls tomorrow to choose who will represent them in the ACT Legislative Assembly for the next four years.

ACT voters will be able to go to one of the 81 polling places spread across the ACT. Polls open at 8 am and close at 6 pm.

Addresses of polling places are in today’s and Saturday’s Canberra Times and in the ACT Electoral Commission Election Guide delivered to all households last week. Some voters will find that the polling place they have voted at for previous elections will have changed.  In particular, voters who live in or near Bonner, Bruce, Charnwood, Coombs, Dickson, Downer, Evatt, Franklin, Hall, Kambah, Ngunnawal, O’Connor, Reid, Scullin, Stirling, Woden and Yarralumla may find that their local polling place has changed.

“How-to-vote cards are banned within 100 metres of polling places,” the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Mr Phil Green, said. “This means that voters need to plan in advance how they want to vote.”

Maps indicating the 100m boundary for each polling place are available from the Elections ACT website

“To record your vote, write the numbers 1,2,3,4,5 and so on, in the candidate squares on the ballot paper in the order of your choice. Make sure you don’t use ticks or crosses, and don’t use the same number twice,” Mr Green said.

ACT electors will vote in one of five electorates – Brindabella, Ginninderra, Kurrajong, Murrumbidgee and Yerrabi, each of which will elect 5 members to the Legislative Assembly.

Election results will start to come into the Elections ACT elections results system after the polls close at 6 pm and will be displayed on the internet at the Elections ACT website.

You can follow Elections ACT on Facebook and Twitter to get up-to-date news on the 15 October ACT election.