Result of casual vacancy in the ACT Legislative Assembly to be known today

Published 15 Jan 2015

The names of the applicants who wish to contest the casual vacancy in the electorate of Molonglo following the resignation of Ms Katy Gallagher MLA will be announced today at 12.30 pm by the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Phillip Green.

The computerised count to determine the successful candidate will be conducted immediately after.

The names of the candidates contesting the vacancy and the results of the count will be emailed to media outlets after the conclusion of the declaration and the count at around 1.30 pm. The names of the candidates and the results of the count will also be posted on the Elections ACT website at

Legislative Assembly vacancies are filled by conducting a ‘count-back’ of those ballot papers that elected the vacating member. In effect, those electors who voted for Ms Gallagher determine her replacement.

An advertisement was published on Monday 5 January 2015 in the Canberra Times inviting candidates who unsuccessfully stood in the Molonglo electorate at the 2012 election to contest the vacancy. Candidates were able to put their names forward up to 12 noon today.

Media representatives and members of the public are welcome at the declaration of the names of the applicants contesting the vacancy and at the computerised count. The declaration and the count is to be held at the Legislative Assembly Reception Room, London Circuit, Civic Square, Canberra City.