Proposed redistribution of ACT electoral boundaries to be published tomorrow, 31 March 2015

Published 30 Mar 2015

The proposed redistribution of the ACT into 5 electorates will be published tomorrow, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Phillip Green, said today.

A map of the proposed boundaries will be published by the ACT Redistribution Committeein the Canberra Times on Tuesday, 31 March 2015. A detailed report on the proposal will be available on the Elections ACT website.

“The report of the Redistribution Committee will include a map of the proposed boundaries, a statement of reasons for the proposed names and boundaries of the 5 electorates, and detailed statistics,” Mr Green said.

The ACT Legislative Assembly’s electoral boundaries are being redrawn in preparation for the 15 October 2016 election. For the first time, the ACT is being divided into 5 electorates each returning 5 Members to the Legislative Assembly.

Members of the public will be invited to make written objections to the proposal to the Augmented ACT Electoral Commission. Objections should be lodged with the Augmented Electoral Commission by Tuesday 28 April 2015.

The Redistribution Committee consists of the Electoral Commissioner, Mr Phillip Green; the ACT Planning and Land Authority, Ms Dorte Ekelund; the ACT Surveyor-General, Mr Jeffrey Brown; and the ACT Regional Director, ACT Regional Office, Australian Bureau of Statistics, Ms Cassandra Gligora.

The Augmented Electoral Commission consists of the four members of the Redistribution Committee and the other two members of the ACT Electoral Commission, the Chairperson, Mr Roger Beale AO, and the other member, Ms Dawn Casey.

A media release will be issued tomorrow giving details of the proposed electorates.