ACT Legislative Assembly Casual Vacancy Announced

Published 23 Dec 2014

The name of the candidate elected to replace Ms Katy Gallagher in the ACT Legislative Assembly should be known by the middle of January, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Phillip Green, announced today.

The Electoral Commissioner has received official notification of the casual vacancy from the Speaker of the Assembly, Mrs Vicki Dunne MLA.  Ms Gallagher formally resigned from the Assembly today, Tuesday 23 December 2014.

“I am now able to outline the official timetable for filling the vacancy,”Mr Green said.

Legislative Assembly vacancies are filled by conducting a ‘count-back’ of those ballot papers that elected the vacating member.  In effect, those electors who voted for Ms Gallagher determine her replacement.

“To begin the count-back process, an advertisement will appear on Monday 5 January 2015 in the Canberra Times inviting candidates who unsuccessfully stood in the Molonglo electorate at the 2012 election to contest the vacancy.  Where practicable the Commission will also notify all those unsuccessful candidates directly,” Mr Green said.

Those candidates then have ten days to indicate if they wish to contest the vacancy.  Applications from candidates must be received by 12:00 noon on Thursday 15 January 2015.

“At 12:30 pm on Thursday 15 January 2015 the names of the candidates contesting the vacancy will be officially declared.  A computer counting program will then be used to determine which candidate will be elected to the Assembly to replace Ms Gallagher,” Mr Green said.

It is expected that the official declaration of the result will take place the following Friday, 16 January 2015, at 3:00 pm.

Members of the media are invited to attend these two events. They will take place at the Reception Room of the ACT Legislative Assembly, Civic Square, London Circuit, Canberra City.