ACT Legislative Assembly Casual Vacancy Announced

Published 11 Jun 2013

The name of the candidate elected to replace Mr Zed Seselja in the ACT Legislative Assembly should be known by the end of June, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Phillip Green, announced today.

The ACT Electoral Commission has received official notification of the casual vacancy from the Speaker of the Assembly, Mrs Vicki Dunne MLA. Mr Seselja formally resigned from the Assembly today, Tuesday 11 June 2013.

“I am now able to outline the official timetable for filling the vacancy,” Mr Green said.

Legislative Assembly vacancies are filled by conducting a ‘count-back’ of those ballot papers that elected the vacating member. In effect, those electors who voted for Mr Seselja determine his replacement.

“To begin the count-back process, an advertisement will appear on Friday 14 June 2013 in the Canberra Times inviting candidates who unsuccessfully stood in the Brindabella electorate to contest the vacancy.  Where practicable the Commission will also notify all those unsuccessful candidates directly,” Mr Green said.

Those candidates then have ten days to indicate if they wish to contest the vacancy.

“At 12.30 pm on Monday 24 June 2013 the names of the candidates contesting the vacancy will be officially declared.  A computer counting program will then be used to determine which candidate will be elected to the Assembly to replace Mr Seselja,” Mr Green said.

It is expected that the official declaration of the result will take place the following Wednesday, 26 June 2013, at 3.00 pm.

Members of the media are invited to attend these two events. They will take place at the Reception Room of the ACT Legislative Assembly, Civic Square, London Circuit, Canberra City.