Seventy four candidates stand for election to the ACT Legislative Assembly

Published 27 Sep 2012

Seventy four candidates have been nominated for the 20 October ACT Legislative Assembly election.

With the close of nominations yesterday, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Mr Phillip Green, publicly declared the nominations and conducted the draw for positions on the ballot paper at midday today.

Twelve fewer candidates are standing for this election compared to the last election in 2008, when 86 candidates stood for the 17 positions.

Numbers of candidates for the three electorates for the 2012 and 2008 elections are set out below.



2012 Total: 20

Male: 16

Female: 4

2008 Total: 19

Male: 14

Female: 5


2012 Total: 28

Male: 17 Female: 11

2008 Total: 27

Male: 18 Female: 9


2012 Total: 26

Male: 17 Female: 9

2008 Total: 40

Male: 28 Female: 12



2012 Total: 74

Male: 50 Female: 24

2008 Total: 86

Male: 60 Female: 26

Attached for each electorate is a list showing each group of candidates in ballot paper order, with candidates within each group listed in alphabetical order. 

Under the ACT’s Robson rotation method of printing ballot papers, the order of the printing of candidates’ names within each column will vary on each ballot paper. The two 5-Member electorates of Brindabella and Ginninderra are each printed in 60 different ways, while the 7-Member electorate of Molonglo is printed 420 different ways.

The 2012 election is the sixth to be conducted under the Hare Clark proportional representation system which was chosen by ACT electors at a referendum in 1992.

You can follow Elections ACT on facebook and Twitter to get up-to-date news on the 20 October ACT election.