Reminder for new parties intending to register for the 2012 ACT election

Published 9 Mar 2012

New political parties wishing to register for the 20 October 2012 ACT election must lodge their applications before 1 July 2012, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Phillip Green, said today.

“New parties wanting to run candidates in the 2012 election need to get their application for registration to the ACT Electoral Commissioner before 1 July,” Mr Green said.  “Applications must be accompanied by the constitution of the party and the names of at least 100 members of the party who are on the ACT electoral roll.”

“The main advantage of registration for a party was the right to list party candidates in a column under the party’s name on ballot papers,” Mr Green said.  Registered parties are also given other rights, such as the right to nominate candidates and to receive copies of the electoral rolls.  Information on how to apply for registration can be found on the Elections ACT website at

There are seven political parties currently registered to contest the October 2012 election: 

  • Australian Labor Party (ACT Branch)
  • Australian Motorist Party
  • Liberal Democratic Party
  • Liberal Party of Australia (A. C. T. Division)
  • Pangallo Independents Party
  • The ACT Greens
  • The Community Alliance Party (ACT)