Pre-poll voting 40% up compared to the 2008 ACT Election

Published 12 Oct 2012

With just over a week to go to the 20 October ACT Legislative Assembly election, more than 24,000 pre-poll and postal votes have been issued, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Phil Green, said today.

Voters who are unable to get to polling places on 20 October have been voting at six pre-poll voting centres across the ACT.  At the close of voting on Thursday 11 October, over 14,000 pre-poll votes had been cast, an increase of over 40% on the 2008 election figure of over 9,900 votes for the same period.

“At this stage of voting in 2008, 8,500 electronic votes had been cast. By last night, over 12,000 electronic votes had been cast for this election.  More than 10,300 postal ballot papers have also been mailed to electors over the last two weeks, a slight increase on 2008 numbers,” Mr Green said.

“Pre-poll voting is available for all Canberrans who know that they will not be able to get to a polling place on polling day. The six pre-poll voting centres are open from 9am to 5pm tomorrow, Saturday 13 October as well as from 9am to 5 pm Monday to Thursday next week. The centres will remain open until 8 pm on Friday 19 October,” Mr Green said.

The centres are located at:

Belconnen: Belconnen Community Centre, Swanson Court

Canberra City: Pilgrim House, 69 Northbourne Avenue

Downer: Downer Business Park, 2 Bradfield Street

Gungahlin: Gungahlin Library, Conference Room 1, Access via Hibberson Street

Tuggeranong: Salvation Army Hall, Cnr Anketell St and Reed St North

Woden: Woden Smith Family, Cnr Easty and Launceston Streets

“Electors who cannot get to a polling place or a pre-poll voting centre can still apply for a postal vote. Electors who have not yet applied for a postal vote should do so as soon as possible to make sure that they do not miss out due to the turnaround time for mail,” Mr Green said.

You can follow Elections ACT on facebook and Twitter to get up-to-date news on the 20 October ACT election.