ACT Legislative Assembly Casual Vacancy Announced

Published 17 May 2011

The name of the candidate elected to replace Mr Jon Stanhope in the ACT Legislative Assembly should be known by the end of May, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Phillip Green, announced today.

The ACT Electoral Commission has received official notification of the casual vacancy from the Speaker of the Assembly, Mr Shane Rattenbury MLA. Mr Stanhope formally resigned from the Assembly yesterday, on Monday 16 May 2011.

“I am now able to outline the official timetable for filling the vacancy,” Mr Green said.

Legislative Assembly vacancies are filled by conducting a ‘count-back’ of those ballot papers that elected the vacating member. In effect, those electors who voted for Mr Stanhope determine his replacement.

“To begin the count-back process, an advertisement will appear on Friday 20 May 2011 in the Canberra Times inviting candidates who unsuccessfully stood in the Ginninderra electorate to contest the vacancy. Where practicable the Commission will also notify all those unsuccessful candidates directly,” Mr Green said.

Those candidates then have ten days to indicate if they wish to contest the vacancy.

“At 12.30 pm on Monday 30 May 2011 I will declare the names of the candidates contesting the vacancy. Shortly after, a computer counting program will be used to determine which candidate will be elected to the Assembly to replace Mr Stanhope,” Mr Green said.

It is expected that the official declaration of the result will take place the following Wednesday, 1 June 2011, at 3.00 pm.

Members of the media are invited to attend these two events. They will take place at the Reception Room of the ACT Legislative Assembly, Civic Square, London Circuit, Canberra City.

Phil Green
ACT Electoral Commissioner