Dawn Casey appointed as part-time member of the ACT Electoral Commission

Published 21 Oct 2010

"Ms Dawn Casey has been appointed as the part-time member of the ACT Electoral Commission, with effect from 18 October 2010," the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Phil Green said today. Ms Casey's term of appointment is until 30 September 2015.

"Ms Casey replaces Dr Christabel Young, who resigned her appointment on 30 September 2010 following 17 years in the position," Mr Green said.

"Ms Casey has over 12 years of senior executive managerial experience in the Australian Public Service," Mr Green added.

"Ms Casey has recently returned from a 2-year secondment to the Regional Assistance Mission in the Solomon Islands where she headed the Machinery of Government Program. She has worked across a number of portfolio agencies in government and has experience in service delivery, program management, policy development and organisational change," Mr Green said.

"Dr Young was a founding member of the ACT Electoral Commission, having been first appointed in 1992," Mr Green said.

The Chairperson of the ACT Electoral Commission, Mr Roger Beale AO, paid tribute to the work of Dr Young during those 17 years. "Dr Young witnessed the innovation in electoral administration that has become synonymous with the work of Elections ACT, recognised in electoral circles around Australia and throughout the world," Mr Beale said. "Dr Young's careful consideration of issues that arose has been highly regarded and has materially contributed to sound electoral administration in the ACT," Mr Beale said.

The ACT Electoral Commission is an independent statutory authority comprising a Chairperson, the Electoral Commissioner and a part-time Member, with responsibility for the conduct of elections and referendums for the ACT Legislative Assembly, the determination of electoral boundaries for the ACT, and the provision of electoral advice and services.

Phillip Green
Electoral Commissioner

More information about the ACT Electoral Commission can be viewed on the Commission's website at: http://www.elections.act.gov.au/about/about.html