Two new parties apply to register for 2008 election

Published 15 May 2008

"Two new political parties have applied to register for the 18 October 2008 ACT Legislative Assembly election", the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Phil Green, said today.

“The Australian Motorist Party and The Community Alliance Party (ACT) have submitted applications to register as political parties in the ACT,” Mr Green said.

“The Liberal Party of Australia (A.C.T. Division) has also applied to change its official abbreviation from Liberal Party to Canberra Liberals.”

“Parties wishing to register for ACT elections must submit a list of at least 100 members and a copy of the party’s constitution to the Electoral Commissioner.  Members of the public are entitled to object to an application for party registration if they consider that the party is not eligible to be registered,” Mr Green said. 

Anyone wishing to object to the registration of these two proposed parties, or to object to the change to the abbreviation of the Liberal Party of Australia (A.C.T. Division), may lodge a written objection with the Electoral Commissioner by 28 May 2008.

Copies of the applications and the constitutions of the parties are available for public inspection at the office of the Commissioner between 9.00am and 5.00pm on business days. 

Any political parties not yet registered for the October ACT election have until 30 June 2008 to submit an application for official registration to the ACT Electoral Commissioner.

Further information on party registration can be viewed on the Commission’s website at

Phillip Green
Electoral Commissioner

More information about party registration can be viewed on the Commission's website at: