Pre-poll voting underway for ACT election

Published 3 Oct 2008

Voting in the 18 October ACT Legislative Assembly election is already in full swing.

Voters who are unable to get to polling places on 18 October have begun voting at the five pre-poll voting centres which opened on Monday. So far more than 3,550 votes have already been cast, including over 2,900 electronic votes. Over 8,000 postal ballot papers have also been mailed to electors this week.

“Pre-poll voting is an easy alternative to postal voting for those who may be away from Canberra on polling day, or who for some other reason can not attend a polling place on that day,” the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Phil Green, said today.

“Many Canberrans know already that they will not be here on 18 October,” Mr Green said. “These people can vote any weekday between now and polling day, except on the 6 October public holiday. They can also pre-poll vote on Saturday 11 October from 9.00am – 5.00pm. The pre-poll voting centres are set up at convenient locations near Canberra’s major town centres.”

“Next week the ACT Electoral Commission will be delivering an Election Guide to all households which includes the addresses of the pre-poll voting centres and polling places, as well as details on how to vote and how the counting system works. A list of the 86 candidates standing for election is available from the Elections ACT website,” Mr Green said.

The pre-poll voting centres are at:

Locations Address
Belconnen Belconnen Community Centre, Swanson Circuit
Canberra City Pilgrim House, 69 Northbourne Avenue
Gungahlin Birralee Scout Hall, 5 The Valley Way
Tuggeranong Salvation Army Hall, Cnr Anketell St and Reed St North
Woden The Smith Family, Cnr Easty and Launceston Streets

Phillip Green
Electoral Commissioner

More information about the 2008 ACT election can be viewed on the Commission's website at: