Pre-poll voting starts today

Published 29 Sep 2008

For those ACT electors who cannot attend a polling place on polling day, Saturday 18 October, pre-poll voting starts today Monday 29 September with five pre-poll centres set up in each of the major town centres: Belconnen, Canberra City, Gungahlin, Tuggeranong and Woden. Electronic voting is available at each of these centres.

Postal voting is available for electors who are interstate, overseas, confined to home or otherwise unable to go to a polling place or pre-poll voting centre. For the first time, electors can apply for a postal vote on-line or by phone (Elections ACT - 6205 0033). Applications from within Australia must be received no later than 5pm on Thursday 16 October.

Interstate voters can complete their pre-poll votes during normal business hours Monday to Friday (except the public holiday, Monday 6 October) from 30 September at state and territory electoral authorities and voting will also be available at Australian Electoral Commission offices in Goulburn, Narrandera and Nowra.

“The general election of the seventeen members of the ACT Legislative Assembly will take place on Saturday 18 October. The Legislative Assembly has the power to make laws and form a government to administer the ACT. By voting, ACT citizens can help to shape the future of the place where they live,” ACT Electoral Commissioner, Phil Green said.

Phillip Green
Electoral Commissioner

More information about the 2008 ACT election can be viewed on the Commission's website at: