Eighty six candidates stand for election to ACT Legislative Assembly

Published 25 Sep 2008

Eighty six candidates have been nominated for next month’s ACT Legislative Assembly election.

With the close of nominations yesterday, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Mr Phil Green, at midday today publicly declared the nominations and conducted the draw for positions on the ballot paper.

More candidates have been nominated this year than for the last election in 2004 when 77 candidates stood for the 17 positions. Comparative statistics for the three electorates are:


2008 Total: 19 Male: 14 Female: 5
2004 Total: 21 Male: 13 Female: 8


2008 Total: 27 Male: 18 Female: 9
2004 Total: 23 Male: 12 Female: 11


2008 Total: 40 Male: 28 Female: 12
2004 Total: 33 Male: 20 Female: 13


2008 Total: 86 Male: 60 Female: 26
2004 Total: 77 Male: 45 Female: 32

Follow this link for a list showing each group of candidates in ballot paper order, with candidates within each group listed in alphabetical order. With Robson rotation the order of the printing of candidates’ names within each column will vary.

The 2008 election is the fifth to be conducted under the Hare Clark proportional representation system which was chosen by ACT electors at a referendum in 1992.

Phillip Green
Electoral Commissioner

More information about the 2008 ACT election can be viewed on the Commission's website at: www.elections.act.gov.au/election_08.html