Declaration of nominations and draw for ballot paper positions

Published 24 Sep 2008

Members of the media, ACT election candidates and the public are invited to attend the declaration of nominations and the draw for ballot paper positions for the 18 October ACT Legislative Assembly election.

Where: Reception Room on the ground floor of the ACT Legislative Assembly.
When: Midday, Thursday 25 September.

After the names of the nominated candidates and, where relevant, their political party affiliations are announced, a "double randomisation" draw will take place for each electorate to determine the order in which each party will appear on the ballot paper.

Following this a further draw will take place to determine the starting order for the Robson rotations in each column. The order resulting from this draw will be used by the Commission when it publishes sample ballot papers.

Under the Robson rotation system, 420 different versions of the ballot paper for Molonglo and 60 different versions of the Brindabella and Ginninderra ballot papers will be printed.

Phillip Green
Electoral Commissioner

More information about the 2008 ACT election can be viewed on the Commission's website at: