Canberra goes to the polls tomorrow

Published 17 Oct 2008

ACT electors will go to the polls tomorrow to choose who will represent them in the ACT Legislative Assembly for the next four years.

ACT voters will be able to go to one of the 79 polling places spread across the ACT.

Polls open at 8 am and close at 6 pm.

Addresses of polling places are in today’s and Saturday’s Canberra Times and in the ACT Electoral Commission Election Guide delivered to all households last week.

The ACT Electoral Commissioner, Mr Phil Green, reminded voters that how-to-vote cards will be banned within 100 metres of polling places.

“To record your vote, write the numbers 1,2,3,4,5,6,7 and so on, in the candidate squares on the ballot paper in the order of your choice,” Mr Green said. “Make sure you don’t use ticks or crosses, and don’t use the same number twice.”

ACT electors will vote in one of three electorates – Brindabella, Ginninderra and Molonglo. Brindabella and Ginninderra each elect 5 members to the Legislative Assembly, while Molonglo elects 7 members.

Election results will start to come into the Tally Room after the polls close at 6 pm. They will also be displayed on the internet at the Elections ACT website.

Members of the public are invited to attend the ACT Tally Room, which will be located at the Reid campus of the Canberra Institute of Technology.

Phillip Green
Electoral Commissioner

More information about the 2008 ACT election can be viewed on the Commission's website at: