ACT voters should check the address of their polling place

Published 16 Oct 2008

ACT voters going to the polls this Saturday have been asked to check whether the location of their local polling place has changed, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Phil Green said today.

“79 polling places will be open this Saturday 18 October from 8.00 am till 6.00 pm across the ACT,” Mr Green said.

Some voters will find that the polling place they have voted at for previous elections will have changed.  In particular, voters who live in or near Belconnen, Chifley, Flynn, Griffith, Gungahlin, Hall, Kambah, O’Connor, Rivett, Scullin, Stirling, Tharwa and Woden may find that their local polling place has changed.

The addresses of all polling places are listed on the website and in the ACT Electoral Commission’s official election guide sent to all ACT households last week.  A list of the polling places will also be advertised in Friday’s Canberra Times.  Saturday’s Canberra Times will include a full election guide, including the locations of polling places, an explanation of the Hare-Clark electoral system and sample ballot papers.

Most polling places have wheelchair access, making them accessible for people with a disability to cast their vote.

“On election day more than 700 polling officials will be available to assist voters at polling places. Work begins for most staff at 7.30 am, although Officers-in-Charge begin their labour on Friday evening, setting up the polling places, ready for an early Saturday morning rush when polls open at 8.00 am,” Mr Green said.

Phillip Green
Electoral Commissioner

More information about the 2008 ACT election can be viewed on the Commission's website at: