ACT election final results

Published 25 Oct 2008

With the completion of the distribution of preferences for the ACT Legislative Assembly election, the Electoral Commissioner, Mr Phil Green, today announced the names of those candidates to be elected to the Assembly to represent Canberra’s three electorates.

Candidates to be elected, in the order in which they were successful in the count are:


  • Brendan Smyth
  • Steve Doszpot
  • Amanda Bresnan
  • John Hargreaves
  • Joy Burch


  • Jon Stanhope
  • Meredith Hunter
  • Alistair Coe
  • Mary Porter
  • Vicki Dunne


  • Zed Seselja
  • Katy Gallagher
  • Shane Rattenbury
  • Andrew Barr
  • Jeremy Hanson
  • Simon Corbell
  • Caroline Le Couteur

It is expected that the declaration of the poll will take place on Wednesday 29 October 2008.


Phillip Green
Electoral Commissioner

More information about the 2008 ACT election can be viewed on the Commission's website at: