ACT Legislative Assembly Redistribution - Public Suggestions Available

Published 9 Mar 2007

The second stage in the process of reviewing the ACT Legislative Assembly's electoral boundaries starts today with the release of public suggestions.

Five suggestions received by the Redistribution Committee are available for public inspection at the ACT Electoral Commission office at Level 2, 12 Moore Street, Civic, and from its website at

Members of the public are invited to make written comments on suggestions to the Redistribution Committee. Comments should be lodged with the Electoral Commission at the above address or via email to by Thursday 22 March 2007.

After the close of the comments period, the Redistribution Committee will consider the public suggestions and comments before publishing a proposed redistribution of the ACT's electoral boundaries. The public will then have 28 days in which to object to the proposed boundaries.

The Redistribution Committee consists of the Electoral Commissioner, Phillip Green; the ACT Planning and Land Authority, Neil Savery; the Commissioner for Surveys, Frank Blanchfield; and the Regional Director, ACT Office, Australian Bureau of Statistics, Karen Macdonald.

Phillip Green
Electoral Commissioner