ACT Legislative Assembly Redistribution - Public Hearing

Published 17 Jul 2007

A public hearing regarding the proposed ACT Legislative Assembly electoral boundaries will be held tomorrow by the Augmented ACT Electoral Commission.

The public hearing will be held on level 2, 12 Moore Street, Canberra City on Wednesday 18 July 2007 commencing at 10:00 am and concluding at 12 noon. Media representatives are welcome.

At the public hearing, submissions to the Augmented Commission may only bemade –

(a) by or on behalf of a person who made –

(i) an objection to the Redistribution Committee's proposal; or

(ii) a suggestion or comment about the electoral boundaries given to the Redistribution Committee; or

(b) by a person making a submission in relation to an objection.

Details regarding the public hearing were published in the Canberra Times on Saturday 14 July 2007.

More information regarding the redistribution process, including copies of suggestions, comments and objections, current enrolment numbers, future enrolment projections, maps of existing boundaries and the Redistribution Committee's proposed boundaries may be obtained from the ACT Electoral Commission's office at Level 2, 12 Moore St, Canberra City, or by visiting the Commission's website at

The Augmented Electoral Commission for the Australian Capital Territory consistsof the Electoral Commission's Chairperson, Roger Beale, the Electoral Commissioner,Phillip Green; the Electoral Commission's Member, Christabel Young, theChief Planning Executive, ACT Planning and Land Authority, Neil Savery, theRegional Director, ACT Office,Australian Bureau of Statistics, Karen Macdonaldand the acting Commissionerfor Surveys, Bill Hirst.

For more information contact the ACT Electoral Commission on 6205 0033.

Phillip Green
Electoral Commissioner