Andrew Barr to be elected to the ACT Legislative Assembly

Published 3 Apr 2006

Mr Andrew Barr is set to replace Mr Ted Quinlan in the ACT Legislative Assembly.

The names of the candidates who applied to contest the vacancy and the final results of the count-back to fill the vacancy resulting from the resignation of Mr Ted Quinlan from the ACT Legislative Assembly can be found here.

Australian Labor Party candidate for Molonglo Mr Andrew Barr received a majority of preferences after Mr Quinlan's votes were distributed by computer count this afternoon.

These tables set out the results of the count, showing at Table I the results of the distribution of the ballot papers, and showing at Table II the result in terms of the number of votes those ballots papers represent.

The computer count, which started shortly before 1 pm today, was completed in a few minutes. By contrast, the last time a manual count was undertaken to fill the casual vacancy in the Assembly - the 2001 recount following the resignation of Mrs Kate Carnell - the count took 2 days to complete.

It is expected that Mr Barr will be officially declared elected to the ACT Legislative Assembly on Wednesday 5 April 2006 at 3.00 pm by the Electoral Commissioner, Phil Green.

Media representatives are welcome to attend the declaration of the poll. The declaration will be held at the office of the ACT Electoral Commission, at Level 12, 14 Moore Street, Civic.

Phillip Green
Electoral Commissioner