ACT Legislative Assembly Casual Vacancy Announced

Published 21 Mar 2006

The name of the candidate elected to replace Mr Ted Quinlan in the ACT Legislative Assembly should be known in early April, the ACT Deputy Electoral Commissioner, Ms Alison Purvis announced today.

The ACT Electoral Commission has received official notification of the casual vacancy from the Speaker of the Assembly, Mr Wayne Berry MLA. Mr Quinlan formally resigned from the Assembly today.

"I am now able to outline the official timetable for filling the vacancy," Ms Purvis said.

Assembly vacancies are filled by conducting a 'count-back' of those ballot papers that elected the vacating member. In effect, those electors who voted for Mr Quinlan determine his replacement.

"To begin the count-back process, an advertisement will appear on Friday 24 March 2006 in the Canberra Times inviting candidates who unsuccessfully stood in the Molonglo electorate to contest the vacancy. Where practicable the Commission will also notify all those unsuccessful candidates directly," Ms Purvis said.

Those candidates then have ten days to indicate if they wish to contest the vacancy.

"At 12.30 pm on Monday 3 April 2006 the Electoral Commissioner, Mr Phil Green, will declare the names of the candidates contesting the vacancy. Shortly after, a computer counting program will be used to determine which candidate will be elected to the Assembly to replace Mr Quinlan." Ms Purvis said.

It is expected that the official declaration of the result will take place the following Wednesday, 5 April 2006, at 3.00 pm.

Members of the media are invited to attend these two events. They will take place at the office of the ACT Electoral Commission, Level 12, 14 Moore St, Canberra City.

For further information call 6205 0224 or 04 0482 8847.

Alison Purvis
Deputy Electoral Commissioner