Pre-poll voting starts for ACT election

Published 2 Oct 2001

Voting in the October 20 ACT Legislative Assembly election has already started.

Voters who are unable to get to a polling place on October 20 have begun voting at the four pre-poll voting centres which opened this morning.

ACT Electoral Commissioner, Mr Phil Green, said today that pre-poll voting was an alternative to postal voting for those who may be away from Canberra on polling day, or who for some other reason could not attend a polling place on that day.

"Many Canberrans know already that they will not be here on October 20," Mr Green said.

"These people can vote any weekday between now and polling day. The pre-poll voting centres, set up at convenient locations near Canberra's major town centres, will also be open on Saturday 13 October."

Mr Green said that over the next ten days the Electoral Commission would be delivering to all Canberra households comprehensive information about the election, including the addresses of the pre-poll voting centres and polling places, as well as details on how to vote and how the counting system works. The pack would also include sample ballot papers, showing the names of all candidates.

The pre-poll voting centres, which will open 9am to 5 pm from today, are at

  • Belconnen: Canberra Revival Centre, 12 Chandler Street
  • Canberra City: Riley Hall, Pilgrim House, 69 Northbourne Avenue
  • Woden: Callam Office, Level B2, Easty Street
  • Tuggeranong: Tuggeranong Library, Cowlishaw Street

Phillip Green
Electoral Commissioner