Declaration of nominations and draw for ballot paper positions

Published 13 Aug 2013

Members of the media are invited to attend the declaration of nominations and the draw for ballot paper positions for the 20 October Legislative Assembly election.

Where: Reception Room on the ground floor of the Legislative Assembly.

When: Midday, Thursday 27 September.

After the reading of the names of the candidates and, where relevant, their affiliations, a "double randomisation" draw will take place for each electorate to determine the order in which each party, ballot group or non-party group column will appear on the ballot paper.

Following this a further draw will take place to determine the starting order for the Robson rotations in each column. The order resulting from this draw will be used by the Commission when it publishes sample ballot papers. Under the Robson rotation system, 420 different versions of the ballot paper for Molonglo and 60 different versions of the Brindabella and Ginninderra ballot papers will be printed.

Phillip Green
Electoral Commissioner