Casual vacancy count-back - Final results

Published 16 Jan 2001

The final results of the count-back to fill the vacancy resulting from the resignation of Kate Carnell from the ACT Legislative Assembly have been announced.

Liberal Party candidate for Molonglo Ms Jacqui Burke received 12953 votes after Mrs Carnell's 25379 votes were distributed, ahead of Liberal candidate Mr John Louttit, who received 8199 votes.

Ms Burke will be officially declared elected to the Legislative Assembly by the Electoral Commissioner, Phil Green, later this week.

The declaration of the poll will take place at the office of the Electoral Commissioner at Allara House, 48-56 Allara Street, Canberra City at a time to be announced.