Applicants to contest casual vacancy declared

Published 12 Jan 2001

Ten candidates have applied to contest the vacancy in the ACT Legislative Assembly following the resignation of Mrs Kate Carnell in December 2000.

The Electoral Commissioner, Phillip Green, today declared the names of the applicants who wish to contest the casual vacancy in the electorate of Molonglo.

The count-back will begin at 9.00 am on Monday 15 January 2001 at the office of the ACT Electoral Commission. Counting will continue until the successful applicant is determined.

The following people have applied to contest the vacancy:

  • Pamela Ayson (Independent)
  • Jacqui Burke (Liberal Party)
  • Jane Errey (Australian Democrats)
  • Jerzy Gray-Grzeszkiewicz (Independent)
  • John Hancock (Independent)
  • Miko Kirschbaum (The ACT Greens)
  • John Louttit (Liberal Party)
  • Roland Manderson (The ACT Greens)
  • Marion Reilly (Australian Labor Party)
  • Peter S Willmott (Independent)
Note: Party/Independent affiliations are as they appeared on the ballot paper for the 1998 ACT Legislative Assembly Election.