Redistribution 2000 - Publication of formal report

Published 28 Jun 2000

The formal report on the 2000 redistribution of the ACT Legislative Assembly's electoral boundaries was published today by the augmented ACT Electoral Commission.

The redistribution process was officially completed on Thursday 22 June 2000 by publication of a notice in the Gazette.

The major change made by augmented Commission was to transfer the Gungahlin suburb of Nicholls from Molonglo to Ginninderra for the October 2001 ACT Legislative Assembly election.

Another minor change to the Ginninderra boundary was made to include all of the village of Hall in Ginninderra and a minor change was also made to the Brindabella boundary to include the entire suburb of Hume in Molonglo.

The electorates are as follows:

BRINDABELLA, a five member electorate comprising the district of Tuggeranong (excluding the suburb of Hume), the Woden Valley suburbs of Chifley, Pearce and Torrens and the southern remainder of the ACT;

GINNINDERRA, a five member electorate comprising the districts of Belconnen and Hall (including the entire Village of Hall) and the Gungahlin suburb of Nicholls; and

MOLONGLO, a seven member electorate comprising the districts of Gungahlin (excluding the suburb of Nicholls), Canberra Central, Weston Creek, Woden Valley (excluding the suburbs of Chifley, Pearce and Torrens), Jerrabomberra (including the entire suburb of Hume), Kowen, Majura, and Stromlo.

The report by the augmented Commission contains copies of public suggestions and comments submitted to the Redistribution Committee and the Committee's proposal and its reasons. It also includes copies of objections submitted to the augmented Commission and the augmented Commission's final determination and the reasons for its decision. The report is available at the Commission's office at Allara House, 50 Allara House, Civic and from the ACT Electoral Commission's website at

The augmented ACT Electoral Commission consists of the members of the ACT Electoral Commission (Chairperson, Graham Glenn; Electoral Commissioner, Phillip Green; and Commission Member, Christabel Young) and members of the Redistribution Committee (the ACT Planning Authority, Lincoln Hawkins; the Chief Surveyor, Rod Menzies; and the Regional Director, ACT Office, Australian Bureau of Statistics, Dalma Jacobs).