Redistribution 2000 - Proposed redistribution announced

Published 19 Apr 2000

The Gungahlin suburb of Nicholls will be transferred from Molonglo to Ginninderra under the proposed redistribution of the Legislative Assembly electoral boundaries announced by the ACT Redistribution Committee today.

Another minor change to the Ginninderra boundary is proposed to include all of the village of Hall in Ginninderra and a minor change to the Brindabella boundary is also proposed to include the entire suburb of Hume in Molonglo.

The proposed electorates are as follows:

BRINDABELLA, a five member electorate comprising the district of Tuggeranong (excluding the suburb of Hume), the Woden Valley suburbs of Chifley, Pearce and Torrens and the southern remainder of the ACT;

GINNINDERRA, a five member electorate comprising the districts of Belconnen and Hall (including the entire Village of Hall) and the Gungahlin suburb of Nicholls; and

MOLONGLO, a seven member electorate comprising the districts of Gungahlin (excluding the suburb of Nicholls), Canberra Central, Weston Creek, Woden Valley (excluding the suburbs of Chifley, Pearce and Torrens), Jerrabomberra (including the entire suburb of Hume), Kowen, Majura, and Stromlo.

Under the ACT Electoral Act, a redistribution of Legislative Assembly electoral boundaries occurs after every ACT election.

Members of the public may object to the Redistribution Committee's proposal. Objections in writing may be made to the ACT Electoral Commission up to 18 May 2000.

A map of the proposed electoral boundaries is attached. A notice including a map of the proposed electorates is being published in the Canberra Times and the Gazette tomorrow, 20 April 2000 and in next week's Chronicle and Valley View. The Committee's reasons for its proposal and copies of public suggestions and comments made to the Committee are available from the ACT Electoral Commission's office at 50 Allara St, Civic, and from its website at

The Redistribution Committee consists of the Electoral Commissioner, Phillip Green; the ACT Planning Authority, Lincoln Hawkins; the Chief Surveyor, Rod Menzies; and the Regional Director, ACT Office, Australian Bureau of Statistics, Dalma Jacobs.