Redistribution 2000 - Final Decision

Published 9 Jun 2000

The Gungahlin suburb of Nicholls will be transferred from Molonglo to Ginninderra for the October 2001 ACT Legislative Assembly election.

The augmented ACT Electoral Commission today announced that it accepted the proposed redistribution of the ACT Legislative Assembly electoral boundaries published on 20 April 2000 by the Redistribution Committee.

Three objections to the Committee's proposal were not upheld by the augmented Commission.

Another minor change to the Ginninderra boundary will be made to include all of the village of Hall in Ginninderra and a minor change will also be made to the Brindabella boundary to include the entire suburb of Hume in Molonglo.

The electorates are as follows:

BRINDABELLA, a five member electorate comprising the district of Tuggeranong (excluding the suburb of Hume), the Woden Valley suburbs of Chifley, Pearce and Torrens and the southern remainder of the ACT;

GINNINDERRA, a five member electorate comprising the districts of Belconnen and Hall (including the entire Village of Hall) and the Gungahlin suburb of Nicholls; and

MOLONGLO, a seven member electorate comprising the districts of Gungahlin (excluding the suburb of Nicholls), Canberra Central, Weston Creek, Woden Valley (excluding the suburbs of Chifley, Pearce and Torrens), Jerrabomberra (including the entire suburb of Hume), Kowen, Majura, and Stromlo.

The redistribution of electoral boundaries will be formally completed on Thursday 22 June 2000 by a notice in the Gazette.

The attached statement sets out the augmented Commission's reasons for its decision (6 pages, including a map, follow).

The augmented Commission's statement, the Redistribution Committee's proposal, and copies of public suggestions, comments and objections are available from the ACT Electoral Commission's website at

The augmented ACT Electoral Commission consists of the members of the ACT Electoral Commission (Chairperson, Graham Glenn; Electoral Commissioner, Phillip Green; and Commission Member, Christabel Young) and members of the Redistribution Committee (the ACT Planning Authority, Lincoln Hawkins; the Chief Surveyor, Rod Menzies; and the Regional Director, ACT Office, Australian Bureau of Statistics, Dalma Jacobs).