Reminder for new parties intending to register for the 2020 ACT election

Published 2 Mar 2020

There are now only four months left for new political parties to apply for registration to contest the ACT election to be held on 17 October 2020, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Damian Cantwell AM, said today.

“New parties wanting to run candidates in the 2020 election must lodge their applications with the ACT Electoral Commissioner by 30 June 2020,” Mr Cantwell said.  “Applications for new parties must be accompanied by the constitution of the party and the names of at least 100 members of the party who are on the ACT electoral roll.”

“The main advantage of registration for a party is the right to list party candidates in a column under the party’s name on ballot papers,” Mr Cantwell said.  Registered parties are also given other rights, such as the right to nominate candidates and to receive copies of the ACT electoral roll.

“However, registering as a political party also comes with obligations,” Mr Cantwell stated. “Each registered party is responsible for submitting annual returns, gift returns and electoral expenditure returns to the ACT Electoral Commissioner.”

“The candidate nomination period for the 2020 ACT election does not open until 11 September and will close at 12 noon on 23 September”, Mr Cantwell said.  “Both party and non-party candidates must wait until this nomination period to be formally recognised as a candidate in the election.”

“However, there is nothing prohibiting a prospective candidate from engaging with electors well before the nomination period. In fact I would encourage all prospective candidates to announce his or her intention to be a candidate, and to get their message out into the electorate as early as possible so that the electors are as informed as possible before they vote in October”, Mr Cantwell stated.

Information on how to apply for party registration can be found on the Elections ACT website.

There are currently eight political parties registered to contest the October 2020 election:

  • Animal Justice Party
  • Australian Labor Party (ACT Branch)
  • Liberal Democratic Party
  • Liberal Party of Australia (A. C. T. Division)
  • Sustainable Australia (ACT)
  • The ACT Greens
  • The Community Action Party (ACT)
  • The Flux Party - ACT