



Notice of casual vacancy in the ACT Legislative Assembly

As a result of the resignation of Mr Johnathan Davis MLA, Member for Brindabella, there is a casual vacancy in the ACT Legislative Assembly.

Any person who was an unsuccessful candidate for the electorate of Brindabella in the 2020 ACT Legislative Assembly election may apply to contest this vacancy in accordance with section 192 of the *Electoral Act 1992*.

Application forms are available from the ACT Electoral Commission, Nara Centre, 3 Constitution Avenue, Canberra City between the hours of 9:00 am and 5:00 pm on weekdays, or may be obtained by contacting the Commission on 6205 0033 or at elections@act.gov.au.

Completed applications must reach the ACT Electoral Commissioner by noon on 27 November 2023.

Applicants are strongly encouraged to submit their application via email or in person.

The names of the candidates who have applied to contest the vacancy will be publicly declared at 12:30 pm on 27 November 2023 at the ACT Legislative Assembly, under appropriate COVID Safe provisions. If more than one candidate applies to contest the vacancy, a recount of the votes received by Mr Johnathan Davis at the 2020 election will be conducted immediately after the declaration of candidates at the ACT Legislative Assembly, in order to determine the successful candidate.

Authorised by Damian Cantwell AM CSC, ACT Electoral Commissioner, Nara Centre, 3 Constitution Avenue, Canberra City.

www.elections.act.gov.au

ACT ELECTORAL COMMISSION OFFICERS OF THE ACT LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY