



Notice of vacancy in the ACT Legislative Assembly

As a result of the resignation of Ms Meegan Fitzharris MLA, Member for Yerrabi, there is a casual vacancy in the ACT Legislative Assembly.

Any person who was an unsuccessful candidate for the electorate of Yerrabi in the 2016 ACT Legislative Assembly election may apply to contest this vacancy in accordance with section 192 of the *Electoral Act 1992*.

Application forms are available from the ACT Electoral Commission, Ground Floor, North Building, 180 London Circuit, Canberra City between the hours of 9:00 am and 5:00 pm on weekdays or may be obtained by phoning the Commission on 6205 0033 or emailing <u>elections@act.gov.au</u>.

Applications must reach the ACT Electoral Commissioner by noon on 22 July 2019.

The names of the candidates who have applied to contest the vacancy will be publicly declared at 12:30 pm on 22 July 2019 at the ACT Legislative Assembly. If more than one candidate applies to contest the vacancy, a recount of the votes received by Ms Meegan Fitzharris at the 2016 election will be conducted immediately after the declaration of candidates at the ACT Legislative Assembly, in order to determine the successful candidate.

Authorised by Damian Cantwell AM, ACT Electoral Commissioner, Ground Floor, North Building, 180 London Circuit, Civic Square, Canberra City.

www.elections.act.gov.au

ACT ELECTORAL COMMISSION OFFICERS OF THE ACT LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY